Norges Bank

23rd Central Bank Macroeconomic Modelling Workshop

Norges Bank, Oslo, 6-8 October 2020


Norges Bank will host the 23rd Central Bank Macroeconomic Modelling Workshop. This annual workshop aims to give policymakers and academics the opportunity to discuss issues related to the class of models used for policy analysis. 

This year’s workshop "Microeconomic Perspectives in Macroeconomic Modelling" focuses on the importance of micro-based models and micro level data in informing policy decisions. Professor Benjamin Moll (LSE) and Professor Ay┼čegül Sahin (UT Austin) have agreed to act as keynote speakers.

The organizing committee invites submissions of both theoretical and empirical work on the following topics:

  • distributional effects of macroeconomic shocks
  • balance sheet heterogeneity and the transmission of monetary policy
  • distributional consequences of conventional and unconventional monetary policy
  • monetary policy and financial intermediaries
  • interaction of monetary and fiscal policy in the presence of heterogeneity
  • household/firm survey expectations
  • heterogeneous agent New Keynesian models
  • policy implications of advances in micro modelling and data analysis
  • labor markets and the business cycle
  • policy implications of structural changes

The scope of the conference is not limited to the topics listed above and submissions related to any issue of relevance for central banks are welcome.

Organizing Committee: 

  • Leif Brubakk, Norges Bank
  • Eleonora Granziera, Norges Bank
  • Douglas Laxton, NOVA School of Business and Economics, Saddle Point Research, The Better Policy Project
  • Junior Maih, Norges Bank
  • Ørjan Robstad, Norges Bank
  • Pål Ulvedal, Norges Bank

Important dates: 

We invite authors to submit completed papers (preferred) or extended abstracts in pdf format to by 31 May 2020. Authors of accepted papers will be informed by July 15, 2020.


Published 6 March 2020 13:20

Scientific committee

  • Philippe Andrade (Boston FED)
  • Saleem Bahaj (Bank of England)
  • Martin Blomhoff Holm (University of Oslo)
  • Cristina Fuentes-Albero (FED Board)
  • Andreas Fuster (Swiss National Bank)
  • Oleksiy Kryvtsov (Bank of Canada)
  • Kevin Lansing (San Francisco FED)
  • Caterina Mendicino (ECB)
  • Gisle Natvik (BI Norwegian Business School)
  • Galo Nuño (Bank of Spain)
  • Kjetil Storesletten (University of Oslo)
Published 6 March 2020 13:20