Norges Bank

Magnus VI Lagabøte’s national legal code. Special edition 20-krone circulation coin (2024)

As one of the first kingdoms in Europe to do so, Norway adopted a unified nationwide legal code in 1274. The legal code was promulgated by King Magnus VI Håkonsson, called Magnus VI Lagabøte, and adopted at all the regional law assemblies across Norway. The national legal code replaced the earlier regional legal codes and ensured uniform treatment of property disputes and criminal penalties in all parts of the country. Magnus VI Lagabøte’s legal code was repealed in 1687, but certain principles and formulations remain in current Norwegian legislation. 

On 1 February 2024, Norges Bank issued a special edition 20-krone circulation coin to commemorate the 750th anniversary of Magnus Lagabøte’s national legal code. The coin is legal tender and is issued at face value.



Norges Bank invited five participants to a competition to design the anniversary motif on the coin’s reverse side. The winner was the designer Michael Guilfoyle, with the motif “Seal”. In its evaluation, the jury writes: “The motif is exquisitely modelled and in harmony with a medieval stylistic expression. (...) The motif and design tie together the Middle Ages and the present and create rich associations with the king, legal system and legislation.”

Design and technical specifications:

  • Diameter: 27.5 mm
  • Thickness: 2.2 mm
  • Weight: 9.9 g
  • Alloy: Cu 81%, Zn 10%, Ni 9%
  • Edge: Plain

Obverse (head side):

The obverse features a portrait of HM King Harald V facing right. Around the portrait: HARALD V NORGES KONGE. At the lower left edge of the portrait, the artist's signature: IAR. Below the portrait: the year 2024 with the initials of Norges Bank in the middle.

The coin’s obverse was designed by Ingrid Austlid Rise, designer at the Mint of Norway.

Reverse (tails side):

The coin’s motif is a modern rendition of Magnus Lagabøte’s equestrian seal (1278), which depicts a mounted king lifting a pair of scales. Twelve dots represent the members of the Court of Appeal. Inscribed along the edge of the coin is the text: “MAGNUS LAGABØTES LANDSLOV 750 ÅR” (Magnus Lagabøte’s legal code 750 years) and the coin’s denomination (20 KR) is located below the horse. The signature of the designer (MJG) is located to left on the coin’s surface.

The coin’s reverse was designed by the coin designer Michael Guilfoyle.

Standard-design 20-krone coins will not be issued in 2024.

Published 1 February 2024 10:00