Norges Bank

Monetary Policy and Financial Stability Committee

The Monetary Policy and Financial Stability Committee is appointed by the King in Council. The Committee consists of the Governor, the two Deputy Governors and two external members.

The new Central Bank Act entered into force on 1 January 2020. An updated description of the committee is in preparation.

The Committee is responsible for Norges Bank’s role as the executive and advisory monetary policy authority and is responsible for the use of policy instruments to attain the monetary policy objectives. The Committee shall contribute to the promotion of financial stability by providing advice and using the policy instruments at its disposal.


  • Governor Øystein Olsen
  • Deputy Governor Jon Nicolaisen
  • Deputy Governor Egil Matsen
  • Jeanette Strøm Fjære
  • Ingvild Almås
Published 2 January 2020 14:00