Norges Bank

Best Master's Thesis Award in Monetary Economics

Norges Bank seeks to encourage the production of master's theses of the highest quality in the field of monetary economics.

This award is an annual event open to all students enrolled in a Master's degree programme at a Norwegian institution who have submitted a thesis for grading within the last 12 months (January-December).

The winner(s) will have the opportunity to present his/her(their) work in a seminar at Norges Bank, spend one day at the bank to meet researchers and policymakers and receive a cash prize of 20 000 NOK.

A committee composed of researchers and policy economists at Norges Bank will evaluate submissions. 

The 2024 Best Master’s Thesis Award is open for submissions until December 31, 2024. Details on how to submit a thesis can be found in the call for submissions.

Winner of the 2023 Best Master Thesis Award 

The winner of the fifth edition is Sonja Plaku (BI Norwegian Business School) for the thesis "The Impact of Monetary Policy on Unemployment: A Comparison of Local Projections and SVAR Analyses from Norway". Sonja was awarde the prize on February 13, 2024, and will present her thesis at the bank during the spring of 2024.

Previous winners 

  • 2022: The winner of the fouth edidtion is Kaja Dørum Haug (University of Oslo) for the thesis "Boliglånsforskriftene og husholdningenes gjeld".
  • 2021: The winner of the third edition is Sander Rivø Aslesen (University of Oslo) for the thesis "Labor supply for Norwegian Lottery Winners". 
  • 2020: The winner of the second edition is Mikkel Irving Fiksdal Riiser (University of Oslo) for the thesis "Heterogeneous Responses in Investment to Monetary Policy Shocks".
  • 2019: The winners of the first edition are Christian Alex Bankson and Andreas Madsen Holm (NHH) for their thesis "Kunstig intelligens i makroøkonomisk prognosearbeid"
Edited 13 February 2023 16:00
Edited 13 February 2023 16:00