Norges Bank

Press release

Two new executive directors appointed at Norges Bank

Norges Bank’s Executive Board today appointed Amund Holmsen and Birger Vikøren as executive directors at Norges Bank from 1 June 2012.

The Executive Board has appointed Amund Holmsen to the position of Executive Director of the Financial Stability Department and Birger Vikøren to the position of Executive Director of the Monetary Policy Department with effect from 1 June.

“We have found two directors with solid leadership skills and who are highly experienced in their field,” says Governor Øystein Olsen.

Amund Holmsen (born 1968) previously held the position of Deputy Executive Director of Norges Bank Monetary Policy. He holds a graduate degree in Economics from the University of Oslo and has filled various positions in NBMP in the course of his career. Holmsen has also held a secondment position at the EU Commission and the position of visiting scholar at Columbia University in New York.

Birger Vikøren (born 1961) has been Acting Executive Director of Norges Bank Financial Stability since the beginning of 2012. After completing his graduate degree in Economics, he joined the staff of Norges Bank, initially as a researcher, then as manager at different levels in the various specialist departments. He was Managing Director of the Norwegian State Finance Fund from 2009 to 2010. Vikøren holds a PhD in International Finance from the University of Oslo.

Norges Bank’s organisational structure will be changed as from 1 June. The core activities in central banking operations will be reorganised into three departments: Monetary Policy, Financial Stability, and Markets and Banking Services.

See organisational chart (pdf, 109 kB)


Press telephone: +47 21 49 09 30

Published 25 April 2012 14:15